[Mimedefang] Mail exchangers at roaringpenguin.com

Matthew.van.Eerde at hbinc.com Matthew.van.Eerde at hbinc.com
Wed Nov 19 17:49:10 EST 2003

I note that though
(which is owned by Cyberus Online Inc.)
reverse-name-lookup resolves to roaringpenguin.net,

name-lookup resolves to
(which is owned by Allstream Corporation)

It seems that Cyberus Online has rather sneakily set up their reverse DNS to
make it look as though their IP's are roaringpenguin.com

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Mark [mailto:admin at asarian-host.net]
> Sent: Wednesday, November 19, 2003 2:14 PM
> To: mimedefang at lists.roaringpenguin.com
> Subject: [Mimedefang] Mail exchangers at roaringpenguin.com
> Perhaps one of the folks at roaringpenguin.com could shed 
> some light on the
> following. Examining my maillog, I found several of these 
> entries (from my
> own Milter):
> Nov 19 22:40:23 asarian-host sendmail[9326]: hAJLeMcE009326: Milter:
> from=<mimedefang-bounces at lists.roaringpenguin.com>, 
> reject=550 5.7.1 We
> accept no mail from dynamic/unresolvable IP space! 
> [] (via
> dynablock.easynet.nl)
> I was rather surprised at that. For starters, because I did not expect
> roaringpenguin to be listed there:
> And surprised, because I distinctly remember having 
> whitelisted the mail
> exchangers for roaringpenguin.com
> --------------------------------------------------
> asarian-host: {root} % nslookup -q=mx roaringpenguin.com
> Server:  localhost
> Address:
> Name:    roaringpenguin.com
> Address:
> Non-authoritative answer:
> roaringpenguin.com preference = 1, mail exchanger = 

Authoritative answers can be found from:
www.roaringpenguin.com  internet address =


asarian-host: {root} % nslookup -q=mx lists.roaringpenguin.com
Server:  localhost

lists.roaringpenguin.com preference = 10, \
mail exchanger = lists.roaringpenguin.com
lists.roaringpenguin.com internet address =


So, my question is, why is roaringpenguin.com also sending mail directly
from its primary IP (, and not using its mail exchangers? Or
am I missing something?

Also, it may be worthwhile to get yourselves delisted at
dynablock.easynet.nl. But since the mail exchangers of roaringpenguin.com
are not listed at dynablock.easynet.nl, if the former is fixed, I suppose
the latter no longer matters.


- Mark

MIMEDefang mailing list
MIMEDefang at lists.roaringpenguin.com

More information about the MIMEDefang mailing list